ATS Pricing: What Does an Applicant Tracking System Cost?
Most ATS vendors don't publish prices, so public contracts are one of the few places to see real numbers. But a published figure might be a spending limit, a total over many years, or a price for several products bundled together. Two figures that look alike often aren't comparable. This page explains what to look for, with real examples.
What does an ATS cost?
There is no single reliable market-wide price for an applicant tracking system. Vendors use different pricing models, contract lengths and bundles of modules. These documented public purchases show what particular buyers agreed to pay or were authorized to spend — not market averages or a typical ATS price range.
Cleveland Public Library, Ohio — Jobvite
$63,000 a year for its ATS, plus a separate one-time $14,700 implementation fee. The board approved up to $140,700 for two years. The papers do not establish every included product or service; board approval is not a directly documented signed agreement.
City of Delray Beach, Florida — NEOGOV
$42,013.73 a year, or $210,068.65 over one year plus four renewals. This covers hiring and performance-review modules together, not the ATS alone.
Source: Delray Beach File 25-1072: Resolution 190-25, agreement with Governmentjobs.com dba NEOGOV
City of San Diego, California — NEOGOV
Up to $1,889,566 over five years for an ATS contract. This is a spending ceiling, not a quoted yearly fee. The product scope is not broken down in the source.
What drives the price
- Size. Many vendors price by number of employees, users or hires.
- Which modules. Onboarding, performance reviews or training are often sold alongside the ATS.
- Contract length. Longer terms and option years change the total a lot.
- Yearly increases. A fixed percentage each year adds up over a long contract.
- Setup and support. Implementation, data moves and support may be priced separately.
How to read a public price
Spending limit vs total if every option is used. The City of San Diego approved a NEOGOV contract of up to $1,889,566 for the first five years. If it uses all five one-year options, which increase 3% a year, the ten-year total is $4,183,202.55. "Up to" means a ceiling the city may spend, not a quoted price.
Yearly price and bundles. The City of Delray Beach renewed NEOGOV at $42,013.73 a year, $210,068.65 over one year plus four renewals. That price covers its hiring module and its performance review module together, so it isn't an ATS-only price.
Source: Delray Beach File 25-1072: Resolution 190-25, agreement with Governmentjobs.com dba NEOGOV
Yearly fee vs one-time setup. Staff at Greater Cleveland Regional Transit Authority recommended UKG at $105,000 a year for three years, plus a one-time $32,000 for implementation and training, with the contract capped at $347,000. A quote that shows only the yearly fee leaves out setup. This was a recommendation; we haven't found the board's final approval.
What a total covers. Golden Gate Bridge, Highway and Transportation District renewed NEOGOV for three years at $355,062. Its staff report splits that by fiscal year. Only part of the total is the "HR Suite" (Applicant Tracking System, Position Requisition, Employee Onboarding and Offboarding); the rest is Performance Management (Perform) and Training Management (Learn).
| Fiscal year | HR Suite | Perform and Learn | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026/27 | $41,234 | $69,777 | $111,011 |
| 2027/28 | $43,552 | $74,662 | $118,214 |
| 2028/29 | $45,947 | $79,890 | $125,837 |
In each year, the performance and training modules cost more than the HR Suite. Two contract totals can look similar and cover very different things.
Source: Summary of Actions, Board of Directors meeting of July 24, 2026; Agenda Item No. (3): Authorize award of Contract No. 2026-D-060, NEOGOV HR Suite, to Governmentjobs.com, Inc. (dba NEOGOV) — staff report
Quotes that look alike may not be. Cleveland Public Library in Ohio met four ATS vendors in 2023 and listed three quotes side by side, "for the sake of comparison", as two-year prices. Each came with a different condition:
- iCIMS: $95,000, "Requires 3-year contract"
- Workable: $54,700, "Price reflects year-end discount"
- Jobvite: $140,700, "Includes implementation fee"
The fourth vendor, NEOGOV, has no quote listed. The board papers don't say what else each quote covered, so these figures can't tell you which system would have cost least. The library chose Jobvite: $63,000 a year plus a one-time $14,700 implementation fee, with the board approving up to $140,700 for two years.
Contract value. Dorset Council in the UK bought Eploy's ATS for £111,150 for 26 June 2023 to 15 October 2025. The notice doesn't say what the price includes.
Source: Contracts Finder award notice: Applicant Tracking System for Dorset Council
First term vs option years. British Transport Police in the UK awarded Tribepad £213,285 for a first term of two years. The notice gives a separate £99,472 for one extra year "if utilised". The headline figure covers only the first two years.
Source: e-recruitment Applicant Tracking System (ATS) — award notice BTP/CON/848
Early figure vs agreed price. The first figure published isn't always what the buyer agreed. The Regulator of Social Housing in the UK gave an estimate of £80,000 before it bought, and its contract with Tribepad was £42,200. The London Borough of Hackney's notice showed a contract value of £180,000, while the value awarded to Cornerstone was £168,067.20 — and that covered an onboarding module as well as the ATS.
Source: Regulator of Social Housing Applicant Tracking System Procurement — contract award notice; Regulator of Social Housing (RSH) Applicant Tracking System (ATS) Procurement — prior information notice; Applicant Tracking System — London Borough of Hackney award notice
Extensions of an existing contract. Before its new contract, San Diego approved extensions of its previous NEOGOV contract, including $127,057.56 and $57,606.58. Extensions like these are priced separately from a new contract.
The figures side by side
These are individual public contracts, shown in their original currency. They're examples of how prices are written, not a price range for the market.
| Buyer | What it covers | Type of figure | Period | Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| City of San Diego, California | ATS (scope not broken down) | Spending limit | 5 years | $1,889,566 |
| City of San Diego, California | ATS (scope not broken down) | Total if all options are used | 10 years | $4,183,202.55 |
| City of Delray Beach, Florida | Hiring and performance review modules together | Yearly price | 1 year | $42,013.73 |
| City of Delray Beach, Florida | Hiring and performance review modules together | Total over all renewals | 5 years | $210,068.65 |
| Dorset Council, UK | ATS (scope not broken down) | Contract value | 26 June 2023 to 15 October 2025 | £111,150 |
| British Transport Police, UK | ATS (scope not broken down) | First term only | 2 years | £213,285 |
| British Transport Police, UK | ATS (scope not broken down) | Optional extra year, if used | 1 year | £99,472 |
| Regulator of Social Housing, UK | ATS (scope not broken down) | Early estimate | Not stated | £80,000 |
| Regulator of Social Housing, UK | ATS (scope not broken down) | Contract value | Not stated | £42,200 |
| London Borough of Hackney, UK | ATS and onboarding module | Value in notice summary | 1 April 2026 to 31 March 2028 | £180,000 |
| London Borough of Hackney, UK | ATS and onboarding module | Awarded value | 1 April 2026 to 31 March 2028 | £168,067.20 |
Buyer names link to the original public document.
How to compare ATS quotes
- Use the same contract period. Keep optional renewal years separate from the first term.
- Separate recurring fees from one-time setup, training and data-migration charges.
- Match the included modules, users, system connections and support before comparing totals.
- Include stated yearly increases and renewal fees. Ask about anything the quote leaves unclear.
Start with your ATS requirements so each vendor quotes for the same needs, then compare price alongside fit and support.
What to ask a vendor
- What exactly is included: which modules, how many users, setup, training and support?
- How much will the price go up each year, and is that fixed in the contract?
- What do option or renewal years cost?
- What costs extra later — new modules, more users, extra connections?
- What does it cost to get your data out if you leave?
Price is one part of the decision. See how to compare the whole decision, or start your requirements list.